a salad can be a thing of beauty

I decided to try my hand at making a chopped salad.  We had a friend over for dinner last week, and I had already decided on making my famous burgers (with bacon and cheese right in the patty! let me know if you want more details) but I needed to fancy it up with a side dish.  Salad is always good with burgers, but can I just say that I hate hate hate leafy salads?  I lose all my foodie cred here, perhaps, but I just have never been good at observing the nuances between different types of lettuce.  They all just collectively bore the crap out of me.  Whenever I eat leafy salads I am slightly disappointed (unless the dressing is awesome), and I inevitably make a mess with a piece of lettuce the size of my fist somehow tucked into the bowl.  No thank you.

Chopped salads are great because everything is chopped to a relatively uniform size, meaning you get a different mouthful of awesome in every bite (and no wrestling with unruly oversized lettuce leaves).  For this salad, I used radicchio, avacado, cucumber, tomatoes, carrots, shallots, and dillweed.  For a crunch, I added toasted walnuts (roll ’em in olive oil, sprinkle with salt, and pop ’em under the broiler — watch them like a hawk, and take them out the second the colour turns).  I made a very very simple dressing of olive oil, balsamic vinegar (2:1 oil to vinegar ratio), chopped garlic, a squeeze of lemon juice, salt, pepper, and a pinch of sugar.  Toss the salad in the dressing and leave it to marinate for a good long time (at least half an hour).  The results are simply splendid.  It also makes a great main meal with some feta cheese mixed in and a nice crusty white bread on the side.